Writing that Hooks: Inaugural Gems

Amazing Phrases-2Poking around the blogosphere, I come across writing that grabs me with its creativity, its power, its meaning. I discover sentences I want to read to others; that I think about long after I’m done reading the piece. I don’t want to forget these gems, so I decided to catch and share them on my blog as I find them. While each of the posts included here is worth reading in their entirety, the phrases in bold hit me with a particular fierceness. And broadened my worldview.

BLOG: Wish I Were Here: Journeys Through Place and Time

From The Undiscovered Territory post, April 1, 2018, J.D. Riso, a wonderful blogger, talks about returning to Michigan after traveling abroad for 19 years.  There’s a quiet brilliance in her observations and a commentary on cultural things many of us accept without question.

“Not only was I physically away from this culture for so long, but there was also a deliberate media/pop culture blackout. I have only vague ideas of what I’m supposed to be enraged about and no idea who I’m expected to emulate. A young man who struck up a conversation with me before my flight from Paris found it hilarious that I didn’t know that there are new late night talk show hosts. I smiled. It is not ignorance, but strategic apathy. Ignorance is being unaware. I’m conscious of the poison that I refuse to consume.”

BLOG: Out of Hiding: My Journey Through Depression and Alcoholism

From the Mother of an Addict post, April 10, 2018,  writing about the challenges of having an adult son whose experimentation with drugs led him to heroin addiction, jail, and rehab, and her struggles as she helplessly tries to help him find his way out of it.  I caught my breath on the last line; it’s one of those thoughts that shows how quickly we can pivot in our understanding of things when the world forces a shift on us.

“He came to us at the age of 20 and told us he was scared and he needed help.  My world stopped.  Heroin happened to the bad kids.  To the bad families.  That was what I always thought.  I didn’t realize heroin happened and then you became the bad family.


 

6 thoughts on “Writing that Hooks: Inaugural Gems

    1. I so appreciate you letting me know. I didn’t know how it would work to excerpt things and share them. Wasn’t sure if their power would come through or be enough to entice others to go in and read the blogs. So thank you for letting me know it was useful!

      And thanks for reading my post!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment